Mr. Josh LaFarga, a resident of Council District 15 in the Harbor area and executive board member of the Laborers’ International Union of North American Local 1309, has been appointed by Mayor Eric Garcetti to serve on the Board of Neighborhood Commissioners. He will be filling the vacancy created by Mr. Victor Medina, whose term has expired.

The Board of Neighborhood Commissioners was established by the City Charter in 1999 as a policy-setting and oversight commission for the Neighborhood Councils and the Department of Neighborhood Empowerment.

The Commission is comprised of 7 Commissioners appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to 5 year terms. The Commissioners are all from diverse backgrounds and geographic areas of the City of Los Angeles. The Commission holds regular public meetings the 1st Tuesday and 3rd Monday of each month and may also hold special meetings to conduct business.

The Commission ensures that the City Charter and the Neighborhood Council Plan are realized by setting policies with the aim of making Neighborhood Councils diverse, inclusive, and representative of all community stakeholders. The Commission believes strongly that the individuality of Neighborhood Councils should function as a catalyst for change in addressing the needs of their communities.  By increasing access to City government and City services through the network of local Neighborhood Councils, the Commission strives to increase quality of life for everyone living in Los Angeles.

We congratulate Mr. LaFarga on his appointment and we look forward to working with him and the rest of the Neighborhood Commissioners!