Westside Neighborhood Council

WSNC Westside-Neighborhood-Council-Banner

Region: West Area

In 1999 a revised Los Angeles City Charter directed the formation of Neighborhood Councils throughout the City. The goal was to give citizens greater access to City Hall and a more effective voice in City affairs.
To carry out the Charter’s mandate, the City planned to set up 103 Neighborhood Councils, each representing from 30,000 to 70,000 stakeholders. A stakeholder, briefly defined, is anyone who, within the boundaries of a neighborhood:
• Lives
• Works
• Attends school
• Worships, or
• Participates in the work of a non-profit institution.
Neighborhood Councils operate with a board of elected and appointed members drawn from each category of stakeholders.
The Westside Neighborhood Council (WNC) covers an area bounded by (See Map):
Santa Monica Blvd. on the north,
the San Diego Freeway on the west,
National Blvd. on the south, and
Cheviot Hills and Century City on the east.
Its Governing Board members are volunteers who give their time out of concern for the quality of life in our neighborhood. The WNC does not represent any political party. We consists of 17 voting members and 3 non-voting ex officio members who are chosen by the group they represent.
A representative from the police and fire departments and the local City Council office (CD5) also sit on our Board as non-voting members.
The WNC can succeed only with the participation of the people whose lives are affected by its decisions. Stakeholders have the right to run for a seat on the Board, to participate in the work of its committees, and to bring an issue to the Board’s attention.
We meet once a month.

Executive Officers

Board Members

PLU Committee Members

Meeting:2nd Thursday, 7pm
Meeting address
Westside Pavilion
10800 W. Pico Blvd. Community Meeting Room B
Los Angeles, CA 90064

Mailing Address:
PO BOX 64370
LA, CA 90064
Planning Mailing Address:
PO BOX 64370
LA, CA 90064

Certification Date:
Certification Order:

Field Rep:
Gibson Nyambura

Funding Rep:
Shawna Dungo